Chess Endgames: The Reti Idea

Signup for FREE online play at !
IM David Pruess gives a detailed presentation of just one of the many amazing chess ideas created by Richard Reti, a deep understanding of how the king “really moves!”


  1. These videos are really great – please keep them coming 😀

  2. @asdfghjl12 its not a rule its more of an understanding. in that situation unless someone messes up it will be a draw.

  3. Excellent video!! Thanks!
    Diagonal is root 2, not root 2 over 2!! 🙂

  4. @asdfghjl12 It depends on the position, but most positions of Queen vs Queen endgame are draws (you have to blunder to lose the game)

  5. @ImRiizky Search for: "Chess Endgame: Opposition & Pawn Promotion" in youtube.

  6. @ImRiizky most 2 on 1 pawn endgames with just kings are wins for the 2 pawns. i just lost that position last night at the tournament i'm at! and yes, we'll do some videos about basic endgame situations with Ks and one or two pawns.

  7. @asdfghjl12 Queen v. Queen and Rook v. Rook are both drawn endgames unless you have an immediate way to checkmate or win the other person's queen or rook. I'll show a famous example where a single rook beats a single rook in a video next week, but such situations are *very* rare.

  8. following this line of thought, why are rooks stronger than bishops if bishops can cover more potential distance?

  9. @kamikrazi123 you can mate with one rook, but not with one bishop.

  10. sorry if I sound naive but this one looks like a magic trick:) nice vid

  11. @asdfghjl12 if both players agree its a draw than ya, but they can keep on playing if they disagree

  12. I saw a video along time ago that explained this a little bit differently. He said that if your kings diagonal is on or in front of a pawn, you will always be able to capture it in a race. So pretty much if you look at the diagonal and you see the piece is on it or behind it, you're getting the piece.

  13. @asdfghjl12 no, it's not a rule, but most players would agree a draw at this stage as most often the game just goes round in circles

  14. @kikook222 yes kikook, but this is a trickier situation: the king's diagonal is NOT catching up with the pawn; he starts out two steps behind. what you are talking about is typically called: "is the king in the square of the pawn." and you can draw a square using the king and pawn as two vertices; if the square doesn't go off the board, the king can catch the pawn.

  15. Wow!! That was bery instructive video!! I learn alot in this video.. XD

  16. This is my favorite endgame study – so elegant. Seems so simple, but there's so much deep analysis involved

  17. WHAT A BRILLIANT IDEA!!!!! i never think like that !

  18. The diagonal is just root(2) not root(2)/2.

  19. If I was stuck in one of these positions without having seen this video I would have just resigned.

  20. There is a problem at the line 1.Kg7 h4 2 Kf6 h3 3. Ke6??? h2 4. c7  h8=Q 5. c1=Q and then Qh3+ so not Ke6

  21. Nice endgames! However, in both positions, the reason why they are drawn is not due to a sqare root 2 speed of the king but because you take moves from black's pawn by distracting the enemy king with your own pawn. If, in both positions, the white pawn was missing, the king would not catch up with the black pawn just because it moves diagonally and would thus be somewhat faster.

  22. i was doing this for a while ….becasue i just felt am hanging on 2 things ncie

  23. I had this exact end game before, I wish I saw this video before that moment

  24. "I'm calling it Reti Idea"

    Or just call it the Reti Endgame Study, like it has been called for a century….

  25. 5:37 In here I was thinking 1. a6 Kc6 2. Ke7 h6 and it's a draw because the white king will eventually catch the h pawn at h5/h4

  26. Assume for a minute that a G.M. is not aware of this puzzle, would he resign this position ? ..speculative I know, but what do you reckon ?

  27. My 1300 brain can't comprehend this. I feel like watching a magic show. How is this possible?

  28. I should point out that Black LOSES if he doesn't play accurately, and that's why I like to practice these endgames from both sides. For example, Black might want to move toward the queening square and also attack the white pawn with 1…b5, and white can simply move 2. c7 and queen several moves before the Black pawn queens. I'd expect this to happen often with players who are not familiar with this position.

  29. It would appear that a double attack is worth 2 tempi and that support of pawn promotion is worth promotion itself, even if the opponent's king is within the square of the passed pawn itself.

    Black can defend against White's pawn promotion in 2 moves, and can promote their own pawn in 4 moves; whereas White needs both +3 moves just to support it's own pawn promotion and +3 moves just to defend (take their pawn) against Black's promotion.

    So, what can White do? If White had to prioritize its moves in reaction to Black, being an either or situation, White would lose, being behind 6 tempi. But, White with the double attack can attack both objectives – gaining tempi. And furthermore, White can make up for a 6 tempi plan in as little as 3 moves, which is fortunately possible with: (Kg7, Kf6, and Ke5). Black can either take the pawn, challenge the support with Kb6, or go for pawn promotion.

    1) If Black takes the pawn via b6 then c6 , White's tempo gain wins Black's pawn via the triple double attack as mentioned.
    2) If Black promotes their pawn, then White promotes with check+, and gains back 1 lost double-attacking tempo made by playing Ke6 instead of Ke5, which is needed to support the promotion square on c8 via d7 if needed instead of Black being able to play Kb2 in response to a white pawn push where Black would Blockade the pawn the very next move because white's king would be on d6 protecting the pawn instead of d7 protecting the pawn blockade.
    3) If Black challenges the support with Kb6, then that is defending a losing battle from Ke5 to Kd6 for white, but still draws the game due to Black's pawn promotion.

    So, the last double attack on e5 depends on Black's choice to attack White's pawn. If Black doesn't attack white's pawn then White needs to prioritize supporting the promotion square via e6; otherwise White should capitalize on the double attack because d6 either defends the supporting pawn promtion and wins, or Black taking White's pawn loses their pawn.

  30. I need similar vedio, or you can say i need some rules for one pawn vs one and two pawn vs two pawns kept at different files and in different ranks. Please share vedio

  31. I've only fairly recently started studying the endgame. It occurs to me that, unlike openings, one must fill your head with many, many scenarios that may never occur exactly that way. Endgame is all about ideas and concepts and not so much about actual positions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *